England star Wayne Rooney won his only PFA Players’ Player of the Year award in 2010. This was after an
impressive season with Manchester United whilst at his prime. The Red Devils ended that season behind
Chelsea, fighting till the end but losing by a point. They were gunning for a fourth straight title following
victories since 2007 when the Blues won it last.

Many expected United to retain the title but Chelsea did enough to secure it. Rooney was sidelined that
season due to groin injury ahead of the World Cup in South Africa, but his 34 goals was enough. For the
star, it was a sign of coming to age after consistent performance since winning the young player of the
year award earlier in his career.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s influence did help but Rooney did deserve the prize, making him the first English star
since Steven Gerrard won it in 2006. Following the exit of Cristiano Ronaldo, it was almost certain that
Rooney would be crowned next. Arsenal’s former star Cesc Fabregas and Chelsea ex-striker Didier Drogba
were the competition but the players’ voted Rooney even though his injury made it an emotional affair.

Rooney has busted through the Everton setup before his switch to United. He was bold, daring and
attracted serious buzz. He was quite the youngster when he played for England at only 18 years at Euro
2004. His performance against Croatia was explosive, helping the Three Lions move to the next stage. His
rage and injuries became a thing until he matured.
The United record goalscorer should have won more than one PFA Player of the Year award based on his
contributions to the English topflight.